The membership delegates responsibility for developing the organisation’s strategy, and the oversight of activities, finances and staff to the Board of Trustees. The Board is responsible for:

  1. Ensuring the charity is carrying out its purposes for the public benefit;
  2. Complying with the charity’s governing document and the law ;
  3. Acting in the charity’s best interests ;
  4. Managing the charity’s resources responsibly ;
  5. Acting with reasonable care and skill ; and
  6. Ensuring the charity is accountable.


Professor Nicholas J P Owens
Director of SAMS (comprising Chief Executive of SAMS, Chief Executive of SAMS Research Service Ltd and Principal of SAMS UHI), UK

Board of trustees

Dr Edgar Pavia
Director of the Oceanology Division of The Center for Scientific Research and Higher Education at Ensenada (CICESE), Mexico
Prof Dr Henk Brinkhuis
Director of NIOZ, Netherlands
Dr Gilles Lericolais
Directeur des Affaires Européennes et Internationales chez IFREMER, France
Dr Kim Juniper
Chief Scientist, Ocean Networks Canada
Dr Edem Mahu
Lecturer, Department of Marine and Fisheries Sciences, University of Ghana
Aileen TanProf Dr Aileen Tan Shau Hwai
Director of Centre for Marine and Coastal Studies (CEMACS), Universiti Sains Malaysia
Captain Francisco Armando Arias-Isaza
General Director, The Marine and Coastal Research Institute “José Benito Vives de Andreis” – INVEMAR

The POGO Board of Trustees (formerly Executive Committee) is composed of:

  • The Chair
  • Either the Past or the Incoming Chair (in alternate years)
  • The Hosts of previous and next Annual POGO Meetings
  • 2 trustees elected by the membership
  • 2 trustees appointed by the Board (to address geographical and/or gender balance or gaps in expertise)


The Board of Trustees delegates certain tasks to Sub-Committees, such as the Finance Committee and the Remuneration Committee.

Finance Committee

The purpose of the Finance Committee is to investigate the state of finances of POGO, independently of the Secretariat and Board of Trustees: (a) To review the books of the past financial year before audit; (b) To review the proposed budget for the coming year; (c) To recommend to the Annual General Meeting any amendments to the books deemed appropriate; (d) To recommend to the Board of Trustees and Members the budget for the coming year, in line with the priorities and long-term budget plan set out by the Members; and (e) To recommend to Members the level of Membership dues for the coming three years.

The Finance Committee works with the CEO and appropriate members of the Secretariat in order to satisfactorily examine the books and budgeting process.

The Finance Committee operates by correspondence, virtual meetings and by meeting in-person prior to the Annual General Meeting of POGO.

In 2020, the Finance Committee members are:

  • Willie Wilson (MBA) – Finance Committee Chair
  • Henk Brinkhuis (NIOZ)
  • Tony Knap (GERG/Texas A&M)
  • Gongke Tan (QNLM)

Remuneration Committee

The Remuneration Committee is responsible for reviewing staff performance and making recommendations to the Board regarding salary increases and bonuses. It is appointed by the Board and consists of 3 trustees (including the Chair) and a POGO member-at-large. For 2020, these are Nick Owens, Henk Brinkhuis, Edgar Pavia and Karen Wiltshire.

Scroll to Top