POGO provided support for the Trevor Platt Science Foundation (TPSF) Symposium, held at Plymouth Marine Laboratory (9 – 11 August 2023). It was preceded by a training course “Satellite-based tools for investigating aquatic ecosystems“. Together, these events aimed to carry forward Trevor’s legacy in ocean research and international collaboration. The symposium included keynote and invited lectures, oral and poster presentations, and networking sessions.

The Trevor Platt Science Foundation (TPSF) was launched in Aug 2021 to promote capacity building, research, and education in ocean sciences, with a strong emphasis on international networking, to nurture the next generation of young scientists and give them the tools they need to succeed in their chosen careers. The Foundation is also serving as a forum that brings together Trevor’s colleagues and students in the spirit of collaboration.

Symposium participants assembled at PML | Credit: Rebecca Jackson

Symposium participants assembled at PML | Credit: Rebecca Jackson

Status: Complete Project

Year: 2023

Project website

Members involved

Project Participants


  • Shubha Sathyendranath - Plymouth Marine Laboratory (PML), UK


  • Sanjiba Kumar Baliarsingh - Indian National Centre for Ocean Information Services (INCOIS), India
  • Heather Bouman - University of Oxford, UK
  • Robert Brewin - University of Exeter (UoE), UK
  • Samy Djavidnia - European Maritime Safety Agency, Portugal
  • Hayley Evers-King - EUMETSAT, Germany
  • Grinson George - Central Marine Fisheries Research Institute (ICAR-CMFRI), Bangladesh
  • Thomas Jackson - Plymouth Marine Laboratory (PML), UK
  • Milton Kampel - National Institute for Space Research (INPE), Brazil
  • Lilian Krug - Partnership for Observation of the Global Ocean (POGO), Portugal
  • Gemma Kulk - Plymouth Marine Laboratory (PML), UK
  • Margareth Kyewalyanga - University of Dar Es Salaam, Institute of Marine Sciences, Tanzania
  • Raisha Lovindeer - International Ocean Colour Coordinating Group (IOCCG), Canada
  • Vivian Lutz - Instituto Nacional De Investigación Y Desarrollo Pesquero (INIDEP), Argentina
  • Frédéric Mélin - Europan Commission Joint Research Centre (JRC), Italy
  • Nandini Menon - Nansen Environmental Research Centre (NERC), India
  • Renato Quiñones - University of Concepcion (UdeC), Chile
  • Sophie Seeyave - Partnership for Observation of the Global Ocean (POGO), UK
  • Seunghyun Son - National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA), USA
  • Venetia Stuart - International Ocean Colour Coordinating Group (IOCCG), Canada
  • Xuerong Sun - University of Exeter (UoE), UK
  • Osvaldo Ulloa - University of Concepcion (UdeC), Chile
Scroll to Top